I just wanted an Americano!

Things I have learned since having two little ones and not just one. Nap time is the hardest to navigate during the day. Oliver will sleep 2-3 big naps during the day but if he doesn’t get his morning nap, the day is a do over. Jackson has to be kept quiet during nap time which usually involves a movie or if I am being good books or a project. The hardest part is dealing with the melt downs of Jackson when he doesn’t get his nap or he does get his nap and just is a grump. The challenge everyday is how do I get my littles out in the world for all of our sanity without being stuck in the car for an hour and half driving nowhere but I have to keep the car moving for the first hour or they will wake up. And once one little guy wakes up the other will too. Right now we live in an upstairs apartment and I have carried both of them up the stairs and kept them asleep, great workout. But it is not ideal and I have ruined several naps because I have done so.

Naps are ruined by so many factors, washing dishes and making a loud noise, drive thru coffee place has an overly happy barista whose voice booms from the microphone (doesn’t she know this is my alone moment of the day). I just wanted an americano to get me through my day.  think any parent would find it hard to navigate their schedules and still make the day fun. I know by going out once a day, will make my sweet Jackson tell me he is tired by rubbing his little eyes and running to bed. I know how long Oliver has to fuss before I pick him up to nurse him asleep.

I have fallen behind in so many aspects of my life and it becomes overwhelming. Laundry will never be all done, I will always need to throw more of my stuff away, I stopped eating gluten and dairy free and I am feeling the results. My head is foggy, I am craving food I know hurts my tummy and I stopped cooking. I eat what Jackson eats which is noodles, peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, cut up apples and chicken nuggets. I will write about learning to be vegan in another post.

Leave a comment